Situated in the heart of Leamington Spa, Audley Binswood luxury retirement village offers exquisite facilities for its lucky residents. The village is more like a luxury development than a retirement home.
First opened in 1847 Binswood Hall was designed by local architect Daniel Squirhill. Intended specifically for the purpose of being a school, Squirhill was briefed to design a building reminiscent of the great Oxford colleges. It has also been said that the intricate brickwork was inspired by Hampton Court.
Throughout its history Binswood Hall has been through a number of transitions with extensions and facilities being added to it to improve its educational offering to the community. However, after many years of service the educational requirements of the town outgrew Binswood Hall and a purpose built facility was designed and constructed on the site of the current North Leamington College. Consequently, a once vibrant building was left empty and unused. Audley acquired the site in 2011 and embarked on an ambitious project to bring the building back to life and re-introduce it to the community as a retirement village. In May 2014 Binswood Hall re-opened its doors as a premier retirement destination in the beautiful county of Warwickshire.
Today South Warwickshire is a very cultural and vibrant place to live. Staying in Leamington Spa allows you to explore the local Royal Pump Rooms and thriving Regency town centre, or travel just a short distance to Stratford-Upon-Avon with its rich Shakespearian history, or to Warwick with its majestic castle. There is plenty to do nearby - why not try Red Road Nursery for a 'pick your own' day out enjoying the scenery and the local produce?
The Jephson Gardens, first laid out in 1831, are formal gardens spanning 14.6 acres and are one of Leamington Spa’s most popular tourist attractions. The beautiful Victorian park is the perfect place for a picnic or simply a walk round the gardens and sculptures.
Kenilworth Castle is one of England’s most magnificent castles. First built in the 1120s and a royal castle for most of its history, it wasn’t until 1563 when Queen Elizabeth I granted it to Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, who converted the castle into a palace.